Home | News | Bio | Compositions | Performances | Links | Contact

for saxophone quartet or clarinet quartet

Full Orchestra
String Orchestra
Wind Ensemble
Solo Instrumental

   The LHC (Large Hadron Collider), is a particle accelerator built by the European Organization for Nuclear Research (CERN) in Geneva Switzerland. It is the largest and most powerful particle accelerator ever built, allowing scientists to probe more deeply the inner-workings of matter and energy. I have always been interested in science and I was excited when I first heard about the LHC's development. Z(4430) is a discovery made by the LHCb experiment at CERN, the first confirmed exotic hadron that combines four quarks. This minute-long encore piece was written for CERN's Physics of Music and Music of Physics workshop at the Montreux Jazz Festival. I convert the number 4430 into musical notes as the basis of this work, and I keep the rhythms constantly shifting as the saxophones collide.

   Z(4430) was written for the Donald Sinta Saxophone Quartet: Dan Graser, Joe Girard, Danny Hawthorne-Foss, and Zach Stern, and premiered at the Montreux International Jazz Festival on July 12, 2014 for CERN's "Physics of Music and Music of Physics" program. I arranged it for clarinet quartet for the 10th and Broadway Quartet.

Watch the Donald Sinta Quartet perform Z(4430):

Watch the 10th and Broadway clarinet quartet perform Z(4430):

You may purchase this piece using the paypal links below, choose pdfs or printed copies. If you need a quote for a purchase order, please contact me.

Z(4430) score and parts

Copyright © by Roger Zare Music, ASCAP. All Rights Reserved.