Home | News | Bio | Compositions | Performances | Links | Contact

Starry Night

Full Orchestra
String Orchestra
Wind Ensemble
Solo Instrumental

   Taking its name from Vincent van Gogh's famous painting, this nocturne for string orchestra features sweeping melodies and lush, expansive harmonies. Throughout the piece, an almost incessant pulsation pervades, its louré bowings an analogue to van Gogh's repetitive brush strokes which create his mesmerizing work. Surrounding this pulsation is a yearning, haunting melody that is passed around the orchestra. This work alternates between capturing the still tranquillity of the night and the infinite depth and beauty of the night sky. As the work proceeds, the each iteration of the haunting melody builds upon itself further and further until one final passionate outburst. Spent, it fades back into darkness, resolving pent up harmonic tension only in the final chord.

   Starry Night is scored for string orchestra with optional harp and is currently published by Murphy Music Press. To purchase printed scores and parts, please visit their website. To purchase pdfs of the score and parts, you may use the PayPal buttons at the bottom of this page.

   Duration: ca. 4'30"

Watch a performance by the 2023 Cannon Music Camp String Orchestra, directed by Dr. Alexandra Dee:

It appears you don't have a PDF plugin for this browser. No biggie... you can click here to download the PDF file.

To purchase printed scores and parts for Starry Night, please visit Murphy Music Press. To purchase pdfs, use the PayPal buttons below.

Starry Night

Copyright © by Roger Zare Music, ASCAP. All Rights Reserved.