Home | News | Bio | Compositions | Performances | Links | Contact

Meditation on Amen
for wind ensemble

Full Orchestra
String Orchestra
Wind Ensemble
Solo Instrumental

Meditation on Amen was commissioned by Darby Stanton and the Ridgeview Charter Middle School Bands in honor of the retirement of Michael Gibson, director of bands. This piece is based on one of Mike's favorite gospel hymns, Curtis Mayfield's "Amen." Mayfield's upbeat tune is transformed into a dreamlike reminiscence at the beginning of the piece, with a solo clarinet singing a wistful melody. Over the course of the piece, Mayfield's Amen gradually comes into focus as melodies are passed around the ensemble, until finally the key changes and a grandiose march-like beat emerges. The whole band plays the Amen together twice before the solo clarinet brings the music to a close.

Duration: ca 4'30"
Grade: 3

  • Flutes, Oboes, Bassoons, 3 Clarinets in B flat, Bass Clarinet in B flat
  • 2 Alto Saxophones, Tenor Saxophone, Baritone Saxophone
  • 2 Trumpets in Bb, 2 Horns in F, 2 Trombones, 1 Euphonium, 1 Tuba
  • Timpani, Percussion (Glockenspiel, Vibraphone, Triangle, Snare Drum, Suspended Cymbal, Bass Drum)

  • Flexible band instrumentation:
  • 1: Piccolo/Flute/Clarinet
  • 2: Flute/Oboe/Clarinet/Alto Saxophone
  • 3: Clarinet/Trumpet/Alto Saxophone/French Horn
  • 4: Clarinet/Trumpet/Alto Saxophone/French Horn
  • 5: Tenor Saxophone/French Horn/Trombone/Euphonium/Bassoon
  • 6: Bass Clarinet/Baritone Saxophone/Trombone/Euphonium/Bassoon/Tuba
  • Percussion: Timpani, Glockenspiel, 2 Percussion - Triangle/Snare Drum, Susp. Cymbals/Bass Drum

Watch a score-following video of the flexible band instrumentation, featuring a reading by the Illinois State University Wind Symphony and view the full score below.

You may download a pdf of the perusal score in case the embedded score below is difficult to see or does not display.

It appears you don't have a PDF plugin for this browser. No biggie... you can click here to download the PDF file.

Meditation on Amen is currently published by Roger Zare Music and distributed by Murphy Music Press. You may purchase digital sets of parts or individual scores with the buttons below, or visit Murphy Music Press to purchase printed scores and parts. If you need a quote for a purchase order, please contact me.

Meditation on Amen
Date of performance

Copyright © by Roger Zare Music, ASCAP. All Rights Reserved.