Home | News | Bio | Compositions | Performances | Links | Contact


Full Orchestra
String Orchestra
Wind Ensemble
Solo Instrumental

   Recipient of a BMI Student Composer Award (2009) and Honorable Mention in the ASCAP/CBDNA Frederick Fennell Prize (2012).

   Inspired by a trip to Disneyland, Aerodynamics describes an imaginary flight on an open-air glider. When I was in college I went on a new ride at the California Adventure theme park called "Soarin' California" during which I was suspended in the air with my legs dangling as if I were in a hang glider. I was immersed in imagery of California landscapes that zoomed by as fans blew air at me to simulate incredible speed. Even the scent of pine forests wafted through the breeze to complete the experience. This ride was so visceral and powerful to me that I went on it over and over, taking it in with excitement every time. I am fascinated by high speeds and by flight, and Aerodynamics is my musical response to these visceral experiences. Musically, Aerodynamics is focused on the ebb and flow of fluid gestures, connected by a continuous stream of quickly repeated notes that represents the wind blowing at your face. Every line is echoed and mirrored so that a simple idea expands into a wash of sound. The listener may imagine taking flight throughout the piece, dipping and swooping as the shape of the music weaves its way from high to low and from small to large. This work uses a very limited amount of material, consisting almost entirely of a repetitive two note motive and a fleeting melody. The constant underlying motion builds the energy toward the end of the piece, where a climax combines the two main musical ideas in a majestic orchestral tutti.

   The orchestral version of this work was premiered on November 21, 2009 by the Minnesota Orchestra, Osmo Vänskä conducting. There is also a transcription for wind ensemble, and it was premiered by the Cincinnati College-Conservatory Wind Symphony, Rodney Winther conducting, on October 20, 2010.

   Download a sample of the orchestral score here.
   Download a sample of the wind ensemble score here.

Orchestra version
performed by the Florida State University Philharmonia Orchestra, Alexandra Dee conducting

Wind Ensemble version
performed by the Appalachian State University Wind Ensemble, John Stanley Ross conducting

    Large Orchestral instrumentation:
  • 3 flutes (3rd doubles piccolo), 3 oboes (3rd is English Horn), 3 Bb clarinets (3rd doubles bass clarinet), 3 bassoons (3rd is contrabassoon)
  • 4 horns in F, 3 Bb trumpets, 3 trombones (3rd is bass), 1 tuba
  • Timpani, 3 or 4 Percussion
  • Harp, Piano/Celesta, Strings
    Small Orchestral instrumentation:
  • 2 flutes (2nd doubles piccolo), 2 oboes (2nd doubles English Horn), 2 Bb clarinets (2nd doubles bass clarinet), 2 bassoons (2nd is contrabassoon)
  • 2 horns in F, 2 Bb trumpets, 2 trombones (2nd is bass), 1 tuba
  • Timpani, 4 Percussion
  • Harp, Piano/Celesta, Strings
    Wind ensemble instrumentation:
  • Piccolo, 3 flutes, 2 oboes, English horn, 3 Bb clarinets, Bb bass clarinet, 2 bassoons, contrabassoon
  • soprano sax, alto sax, tenor sax, baritone sax
  • 4 horns in F, 3 Bb trumpets, 3 trombones, 2 euphoniums, tuba
  • Timpani, 4 Percussionists
  • Harp, Piano/Celesta, Contrabass
    Percussion required for all versions:
  • Vibraphone, Glockenspiel, Crotales, 2 Suspended Cymbals, Tam-tam, Small Triangle, Snare Drum, 5 Tom-toms, Bass Drum.

I am currently self-published. You may rent parts or purchase scores using the buttons below. Renting a set of parts will include a score. Please enter date(s) of performances to accompany rental orders. If you need a quote for a purchase order, please contact me.

Rent a set of parts and score ($235)
Date(s) of performance

Electronic parts option, wind ensemble only - score will be mailed and parts will be provided as pdfs ($195):
Date(s) of performance
Purchase score ($35)

Copyright © by Roger Zare Music, ASCAP. All Rights Reserved.